And then some.

Sheppard, of New Berlin, Ill., Pushed Madden back after the Gray Court, SC driver briefly passed him on the last lap of the 40-lap Late Model feature. A late warning resulted in a green-white checkered finish, and on the final lap Madden passed Sheppard on the high side of Turn 2 and as George Jones would say the race was on.

It was neck and neck the rest of the way as Sheppard passed Madden just at the finish line.

“Kudos to Chris for his performance and you always appreciate when a short guy cleans you up,” said Sheppard, who some have called “The Rocket Shepp” after the “house car”, meaning the main driver, for Rocket Chassis.

Sheppard won $ 10,000 for this victory, the 72nd WOO Late Model victory of his career. He is the points leader for the current season while Madden is second.

“I thought I had it, but Brandon came back strong,” Madden said. “It was awesome. The crowd was great, and I’m glad we put on a show for them. I don’t think they could have asked for more than that.

The top two in each heat were part of the draw to determine the top end of the field for Tuesday’s WOO Late Model feature.

John Kaanta was asked if he would win the feature, and he said he didn’t know.

“There is a lot more talent and a lot more engine,” said Kaanta, speaking of the WOO field present.

Steve Laursen, who drew lots for the first starting place, accepted.

“I love Superior. It’s just great here, ”he said. “I would love to win, but I don’t count my chickens until they hatch.”

Darrell Nelson won the Modified feature, jumping in the lead early on and winning by 3.75 seconds, prompting track announcer Mark Fleischer to say he couldn’t remember the last time the pilot d’Hermantown had appeared so dominant.

Nelson picked up the new car a few weeks ago and it showed that runner-up Shane Sabraski of Rice, Minnesota – a dominant driver in his own right – was never able to bring it back.

Nelson won $ 1,000 for the Modified victory while Mac Johnston of Rush City, Minnesota won $ 200 for winning his second feature film Hornets on the track this season after winning the Battle of the Great Lakes Frontier on the weekend. -end of July 4.

“Last time here, two weeks ago, I won and I felt great, and I still felt great tonight,” said Johnston. “On my home track in Ogilvie (Minn.), I can’t win. Here I just lower the hammer and keep my eyes on the future.

While those first prizes were cool, it was stupid money what the WOO Late Models were making.

It was even $ 1,000 to create the Late Model feature, which meant there was a lot of money at stake on Tuesday.

“We pay $ 700 to win Late Models on a normal night,” said Gondik Law Speedway promoter Joe Stariha. “So it was a great opportunity for our locals to earn a lot of money and compete against the best in the business.”

A WOO Late Model has a 458 cubic inch engine with aluminum cylinder heads that develops 900 horsepower. A Wissota Late model, like the locals, features a 362 cubic inch steel block with aluminum heads producing 650 horsepower on average.

So the luge was a bit more difficult for the Wissota guys, but James Giossi won $ 2,500 for finishing fifth and a $ 500 bonus for Wissota’s top rider. Three thousand, not bad.

“A little more money at stake tonight, and it wasn’t going as well with my Late Model, so I had to make up for it somewhere,” Nelson said. “The track is beautiful so everything went perfectly. We don’t see that many people on a normal night, so it was great to see all these fans going out on a weeknight, on a work night.

World of Outlaws Late Model Series

At Gondik Law Speedway, Superior

Tuesday results

WOO late models

Heat 1 – 1. Brandon Sheppard, 2. John Kaanta, 3. Brent Larson, 4. Frank Heckenhast Jr., 5. Jimmy Mars, 6. Ryan Gustin, 7. Chad Mahder, 8. Darrell Nelson, 9. Sam March.

Round 2 – 1. Chris Madden, 2. Tyler Bruening, 3. James Giossi, 4. Pat Doar, 5. Kevin Eder, 6. Harry Hanson, 7. Jody Bellefeuille, 8. Boom Briggs, 9. DNF: Jeffrey Massingill.

Series 3 – 1. Dennis Erb Jr., 2. Steve Laursen, 3. Ricky Weiss, 4. Travis Budisalovich, 5. Derek Vesel, 6. Aaron Lillo, 7. Tim McMann, 8. Mike Bellefeuille, 9. Keith Niemi.

Last Chance Showdown – 1. Mahder, 2. McMann, 3. Nelson, 4. S. Mars, 5. M. Bellefeuille, 6. Briggs, 7. J. Bellefeuille, 8. Niemi. DNS: Massingill.

Characteristic – 1. Sheppard, 2. Madden, 3. Erb Jr. 4. Bruening, 5. Giossi, 6. Gustin, 7. J. Mars, 8. Eder, 9. Weiss, 10. Laursen, 11. Doar, 12 Chad Mahder, 13. Larson, 14. Kaanta, 15. S. Mars, 16. Nelson, 17. Heckenhast, 18. Briggs, 19. Budisalovich, 20. Vesel. DNF: Hanson, M. Bellefeuille, Lillo, McMann.


Round 1 – 1. Shane Sabraski, 2. Mike Anderson, 3. Skeeter Estey, 4. Darrell Nelson, 5. Brandon Copp, 6. Jason Gross, 7. Neil Balduc, 8. Kyle Helling, 9. Mike Klippenstein.

Round 2 – 1. Rick Rivord, 2. Jeffrey Wood, 3. Devin Fouquette, 4. Daniel Bargender, 5. Jake Hartung, 6. Danny Vang, 7. Jody Bellefeuille, 8. Pat Hoffman.

Report – 1. Nelson, 2. Sabraski, 3. Estey, 4. J. Bellefeuille, 5. Anderson, 6. Copp, 7. Gross, 8. Vang, 9. Balduc, 10. Rivord, 11. Helling, 12. Hoffman, 13. Fouquette, 14. Klippenstein. DNF: Bargender, Wood, Hartung.


Heat – 1. Tyler Schramm, 2. Mac Johnston, 3. Kristy Marken, 4. Casey Fitzpatrick, 5. Reid Johnson, 6. Carson Gotelaere, 7. Derek Dunbar, 8. Michael Egan, 9. Paul George, 10. Patrick Passeri.

Characteristic – 1. Johnston, 2. Fitzpatrick, 3. Schramm, 4. Marken, 5. Johnson, 6. Gotelaere, 7. Egan, 8. Dunbar 9. Passeri, 10. Paul George.